The D Word

Time to have the talk ladies and gents.

Lets talk about the word.
Depression.

I feel like now-a-days depression is something no one really likes to talk about. People think its a very sensitive topic or that its too taboo to talk about. I personally think its something that needs to be talked about.

For those of you who don’t know (mainly anyone who reads this blog), I was diagnosed with severe depression and anxiety when I was 10 years old. I didn’t fully understand what having depression was like back then. I thought depression just meant you were sad sometimes, and everyone gets sad sometimes, right?

“Areas of the brain affected by depression. Amygdala: The amygdala is part of the limbic system, a group of structures deep in the brain that’s associated with emotions such as anger, pleasure, sorrow, fear, and sexual arousal. … Activity in the amygdala is higher when a person is sad or clinically depressed.”  This means that your brain is literally different than others who aren’t effect by depression. It is a disease.

Depression effects everything in my life. It effects my relationships with people (my boyfriend and my friends), it sometimes effects me in the middle of a work day too. I can be having the most amazing day and then BAM it hits me like a semi going 150mph. I’ll be video chatting my boyfriend and then my face will just stop showing emotion. The thing that sucks the most though, I have depression and anxiety. One minute I can feel completely empty and then the next I could be overwhelmed with emotions.

The good thing is, depression can be managed. You can take medicine to lower the effects, or for the lucky few, get rid of it fully. You can also go to a counselor. I personally have done both. Everyone reacts to these treatments differently. Some people react well to meds, some react well to counseling, some both and some none.

I honestly don’t know if this post helped anyone or not. I have no idea if I made it to vent or educate. Ohboyohboyohboy.

I love you guys.
~Cy

Below is a link to national hotlines!
National Suicide Hotline
National Alliance on Mental Health

Leave a Reply

